An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Premium parking at Selfridge

  • Published
  • By Capt. Anthony J. Lesterson
  • 127th Wing

Three select Airmen were honored with the beginning of a new tradition on June 21 to show appreciation for an accomplishment not forgotten.


The 127th Wing's Airmen of the Year winners for 2013, Senior Airman Kylee Coats, 127th Medical Group; Technical Sgt. Mary Buchholtz, 127th Wing Chaplain's Office; and, Senior Master Sgt. Christopher Tear, 127th Air Refueling Group, were presented their own parking spaces  for use each Unit Training Assembly for the remainder of 2014.  The Airmen were thanked for their service and presented with a choice parking spot by Chief Master Sgt. Bob Dobson, 127th Wing command chief, and their unit superintendent. This new tradition was recommended at the strategic planning session and approved during a Chief's Council meeting. The idea was an immediate success and had the support of every chief master sergeant in the Council.


"This is a great opportunity for us to recognize our outstanding enlisted members," said Dobson.


"I was surprised when I was chosen as NCO of the Year," said Buchholtz. "When I was told about the parking spot, it is definitely something I didn't expect and just being selected as an Outstanding Airman of the Year was a great reward."


The 127th Wing Airmen of the Year are selected in each category from candidates submitted by the 127th Operations, Medical, Air Refueling, Mission Support, and Medical Groups.  Three new Airmen of the Year will be selected at the end of 2014 and will be awared not only the annual plaque that goes with the title, but also the added benefit of the special UTA parking space.