2009 Airmen of the Year announced at wing formation

  • Published
  • By SrA Anna-Marie Wyant
  • 127th Public Affairs
Airmen who distinguished themselves by going above and beyond the call of duty were honored during the 127th Wing Commander's Call here December 6.

The 127th Wing honored seven of its Airmen as Outstanding Airmen of the Year.
The 2009 Airman of the Year awardees were:

Airman 1st Class Katrina A. Smith, 127th Maintenance Group, Airman of the Year;

Staff Sgt. Maygan L. Rhodes, 127th Mission Support Group, NCO of the Year;

Master Sgt. Johnny C. White, 127th Mission Support Group, Senior NCO of the Year;

Capt. Brian C. Wyrzykowski, 127th Air Refueling Group, Company Grade Officer of the Year;

Master Sgt. Ethan S. Boyd, 127th Wing Headquarters, First Sergeant of the Year;

Technical Sgt. Akenty A. Frazer, 127th Maintenance Group, Honor Guardsman of the Year;

Maj. Jim M. Rossi, 127th Air Refueling Group, Commander's Trophy.

The wing also showcased the new design for the Commander's Coin of Excellence, a token given by the wing commander to reward individuals for outstanding performance.
Peplinski presented the first two coins to Lt. Bryan Amara from the 127th Wing Headquarters and Staff Sgt. Jeremy Brownfield from the 127th Wing Public Affairs, who helped to create the coin's design. Peplinski also awarded all Outstanding Airmen of the Year nominees with the new coin.

After giving out the awards, Peplinski congratulated the nominees and winners and stressed the difficulty and intensity of selecting winners.

"It's a very competitive process," Peplinski said.

Peplinski said wing members should enjoy their holidays, spend quality time with their families, and be ready to work hard in the New Year.