An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


  • Published
  • By Tech. Sgt. Chelsea E. Barber
  • 127th Wing Public Affairs

Command staff and approximately 1,500 members of the 127th Wing convened to announce this year’s Outstanding Airmen of the Year winners on December 1, 2018.

The six winners, representing the Wing’s top individual members and groups, were selected from a pool of 21 nominees and four teams in five categories. Final award recipient decisions were based on superior leadership, job performance and overall achievement.

“We’re here to recognize some of the fantastic performers, and this is… a representation of all the fantastic work that goes on within the Wing,” Brig. Gen. John D. Slocum, commander of the 127th Wing, said during his opening address. “These are just some of the superlative performers.”

Winners were selected in the following five categories:

Outstanding Airman of the Year- Staff Sgt. Jabett Glenn, 127th Mission Support Group
Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year- Tech. Sgt. Jonathan Smaltz, 127th Security Forces Squadron
Senior Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year- Master Sgt. Lana Allred, 127th Comptroller Flight
First Sergeant of the Year- Sr. Master Sgt. Bryon Harvey, 127th Wing Headquarters,
Company Grade Officer of the Year- Capt. Jason McNally, 127th Wing Headquarters
Commander’s Trophy- 127th Wing Headquarters Public Affairs Team.

The winners of the first four categories are now eligible to compete in the state level awards, announced in August.